Garnet for the Winter Solstice

According to Hibiscus Moon Crystal Academy, “Garnet is THE gem stone to have in your sacred space for Winter Solstice.”

Apart from a pair of garnet stud earrings, I didn’t have garnet in my collection of about two dozen crystals and tumbled stones. So I decided to visit a nearby metaphysical shop on December 21.

The cashier at The Raven’s Wing Magical Company wished me a happy solstice as I completed my transaction: I purchased 2 kinds of tumbled garnet and one tumbled piece of selenite (see below).

 

I was introduced to crystals many years ago when I first picked up a rose quartz from a sidewalk vendor on Market Street in San Francisco. It caught my eye simply because it looked pretty.

In the beginning, I was skeptical. I thought that any healing power would only be the placebo effect. Raised in the Catholic faith, I grew up thinking that crystals were taboo as they were associated with terms, such as witchcraft, magick (with a -ck!), superstition, talisman, occult powers, and good luck charms.

But as the saying goes: “Don’t knock it ’til you try it!”

So a few years ago, I started to explore the healing qualities of crystals and gemstones. (I also made wire-wrapped rings with tumbled stones.)

I haven’t yet tried to cure minor aches and pains with them, but at the very least, I do believe they help me keep sight of my goals and stay focused. For example:

  • I keep a piece of amethyst cluster at my workplace. It is believed to keep negative energy away. As I leave the office, I touch the rough purple rock as I believe that doing so helps clear any stress from the work day
  • I hold a carnelian stone (which is believed to promote creative thinking) when I experience writer’s block or need to come up with a solution to a problem
  • I wear my garnet stud earrings when I need a confidence boost

Now that I’ve learned that garnet is also good for the winter solstice, I say, bring on the light and positive energy into the new year! 💎

For more information:

To learn more about crystals and gemstones, I enjoy reading these online sources:

Crystal Life Technology

Energy Muse

Hibiscus Moon Crystal Academy

I’ve purchased crystals and tumbled stones from the following vendors:

The Mystic Merchant in Solvang, California

The Raven’s Wing Magical Company in Oakland, California

Rock Tumbler (online store)

Do you believe in the healing powers of crystals and gemstones? Let me know in the comments below.

If you like this post, share it, and don’t forget to subscribe to my blog. To contact me, send me an email.

I'd love to hear from you:

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.